Real men can do art

A reprint from November 25, 2011

Mr.  RSG and I had a relaxing holiday at my sister in law’s yesterday.  Grandma took the girls to spend a few nights, which was just in time, because he and I have been in need of some bonding.

As we decided what we’d do with our free time, I invited him to join me in one of my favorite new hobbies – art journaling.  We sat and watched a few tutorials on Youtube to give him the basics.  Then I turned him lose with a brand new art journal and my tools.

Photobucket

With watercolor paints, acrylic paints, markers, coffee and a little creativity, husband came up with an engineering themed layout.  Mr. RSG seemed to be having fun using found objects like legos, re-purposed items like plastic embroidery canvas and handmade cardboard templates to make geometric designs.

Photobucket

He also used old Dilbert comic strips from an old calendar and engineering formulas from an old textbook to add interest.  I really, really like his color choices too.  I admit, when I first saw him mixing the orange, blue, red, lime green and fuschia, I wasn’t sure it was going to work, but I like it.  I really do.

And I think the Dilbert strip is really funny too!  The sad part is that it’s JUST like his old boss at his old engineering job.

Photobucket

I had enjoyed the time with him while working on art together.  I liked the fact I didn’t feel guilty for working on my art journal while he did his art beside me.  I also like the fact that he gave me some ideas for use in future pages too.

The spread below was from my journal.  I think it turned out pretty nice.  Later, I’ll add some journaling to the right page, but I just thought I’d show it for now.

 photo P1160931.jpg

Me: “So, would you do art again with me sometime”

Mr.  RSG: “Sure, it wasn’t all that painful.”

What a fun-e guy.

About Casey

“the only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes ‘Awww!’ ~ Jack Kerouac, On The Road Again
This entry was posted in Art Journaling, Drawing, Mixed media, Real men do art. Bookmark the permalink.

Would you like to share your thoughts? I'd love to hear them.